The Slate Pacific – Safe Passage (FMG012 -DL)


SKU: FMG012 Category: Tags: , ,


The Slate Pacific spawned from humble acoustic beginnings…two fellows with voices and guitars. Now a five-piece, this Fredericton band has retained all its earnestness. Standing with modest posture, one foot in moody folk and the other in noisey indie-rock, this band reflects a myriad of influences from Chad VanGaalen to My Morning Jacket.

The band is centered around the songs of principal songwriter, Logan Hawkes. To realize his sonic ambitions, Logan recruited a cast of talented musicians entrenched in the local music scene: Zach Atkinson on drums (Share), Stephen Dunn on guitar (Force Fields, All of Green), Heather Ogilvie on bass (the Names and Faces), and Brad Perry on keys (the Names and Faces).

After well-received shows around the East Coast with the likes of Dog Day, Hey Rosetta! and Wintersleep, the Slate Pacific is readying for their debut release, ‘Safe Passage’. This five song EP marks a transition point for the band, capturing their wide-eyed origins while also pointing towards a more refined vision.